The Territorial Army Service Corps Divisional Transport and Supply Columns

When the new Territorial Force came into existence in April 1908 it was organised into fourteen Divisions. Each included a Transport and Supply Column which was a mounted unit of the Army Service Corps. The column was made up of a headquarters company and three other companies, one supporting each of the Infantry Brigades within the same Division. The depot locations of each of these units was as given below.

During the war the name of the Divisions was modified as shown, and the Transport & Supply Column became known as a Divisional Train.

Imperial War Museum photograph Q4827. Mule wagon of the Army Service Corps loading up at a coal dump in the snow. Near Maricourt, March 1917.

East Lancashire Division
Later named as the 42nd (East Lancashire) Division
Headquarters and Depot: Hulme Barracks, Manchester
Headquarters Company: same
Lancashire Fusiliers Brigade Company: same
East Lancashire Brigade Company: Rawtenstall
Manchester Brigade Company: also Hulme Barracks

Wessex Division
Later named as the 43rd (Wessex) Division
Headquarters and Depot: 14 Oxford Road, Exeter
Headquarters Company: Andover, with other stations at Barton Stacey, St, Mary Bourne and Winchester
Devon & Cornwall Brigade Company: Mutley Barracks, Plymouth
South Western Brigade Company: Bridgwater
Hampshire Brigade Company: Redan Hill, Aldershot with other stations at Church Crookham and Farnborough

Home Counties Division
Later named as the 44th (Home Counties) Division
Headquarters and Depot: Hounslow
Headquarters Company: 117 Gloucester Road, Brighton
Surrey Brigade Company: 259 Walton Road, Woking
Kent Brigade Company: Union Street, Maidstone
Middlesex Brigade Company: Barnet with other station at Teddington

North Midland Division
Later named as the 46th (North Midland) Division
Headquarters and Depot: 7 Magazine Square, Leicester
Headquarters Company: Handsworth (near Birmingham)
Lincoln & Leicester Brigade Company: 19 Magazine Square, Leicester with other station at Market Harborough
Staffordshire Brigade Company: Handsworth
Notts & Derby Brigade Company: Derby Road, Nottingham

2nd London Division
Later named as the 47th (2nd London) Division
Headquarters and Depot, Headquarters, 4th, 5th and 6th London Brigades: all at the Duke of York’s Headquarters, Chelsea

South Midland Division
Later named as the 48th (South Midland) Division
Headquarters and Depot: Aston (near Birmingham)
Headquarters Company: same
Warwickshire Brigade Company: Court Oak House, Harborne
Gloucester & Worcester Brigade Company: Wallbridge, Stroud
South Midland Brigade Company: Taplow

West Riding Division
Later named as the 49th (West Riding) Division
Headquarters and Depot: Harewood Baracks, Leeds
Headquarters Company: Lumley Barracks, York
1st, 2nd and 3rd West Riding Brigade Companies:all at Leeds

Northumbrian Division
Later named as the 50th (Northumbrian) Division
Headquarters and Depot: St. George’s Hall, Newcastle on Tyne
Headquarters Company: Angus Hall, Gateshead
Northumberland Brigade Company: Newcastle on Tyne
York & Durham Brigade Company: Walton Street, Hull
Durham Light Infantry Brigade Company: Sunderland

Highland Division
Later named as the 51st (Highland) Division
Headquarters and Depot: Tay Street, Perth
1st (Headquarters) Company: same
2nd Brigade Company: St. John Street, Stirling with other station at Grangemouth
3rd (Gordon Highlanders) Brigade Company: Fonthill Road, Aberdeen
4th Brigade Company: Dundee

Lowland Division
Later named as the 52nd (Lowland) Division
Headquarters and Depot: 22 Lochburn Road, Maryhill, Glasgow
1st (Headquarters) Company: same
2nd Brigade Company: Brandon Terrace, Edinburgh
3rd (Scottish Rifles) Brigade Company: Motherwell with other station at Rutherglen
4th (Highland Light Infantry) Brigade Company: Gilbert Street, Yorkhill, Glasgow

Welsh Division
Later named as the 53rd (Welsh) Division
Headquarters and Depot: Barracks, Hereford
Headquarters Company: Weobley with other stations at Kingsland, Staunton on Wye and Hereford
Cheshire Brigade Company: 79A Harrowby Road, Birkenhead
North Wales Brigade Company: Ruthin with other stations at Caerwys, Cerrig-y-Druidon and St. Asaph
Welsh Border Brigade Company: Ystrad

East Anglian Division
Later named as the 54th (East Anglian) Division
Headquarters and Depot: 156 High Road, Ilford
Headquarters Company: also Ilford with other stations at Ballingdon and Woolwich
Norfolk & Suffolk Brigade Company: King’s Lynn with other station at Downham Market
East Midland Brigade Company: Northampton
Essex Brigade Company: Bay Lodge, The Green, Stratford with other station at Woolwich

West Lancashire Division
Later named as the 55th (West Lancashire) Division
Headquarters and Depot: Southport
Headquarters Company: same
North Lancashire Brigade Company: Tramway Road, Aigburth
Liverpool Brigade Company: Liverpool
South Lancashire Brigade Company: 46 Legh Street, Warrington

1st London Division
Later named as the 56th (1st London) Division
Headquarters and Depot, Headquarters, 1st, 2nd and 3rd London Brigades: all at Charles Street, Plumstead


Territorial Force

Army Service Corps

What was a Divisional Train?